top of page
  • westmonttheshield

GIF Making

Updated: May 29, 2020

By Hannah Liang


What better way to spend quarantine than by picking up a new hobby? A few weeks ago, I decided to learn how to create GIFs, those short animated clips that no one can agree on how to pronounce. I’ve always wondered about the GIF-making process, so I gave it a shot and dove right in.


I first played around with some free, easy-to-use editing websites but found myself disappointed by the low-grade results I received. Frustrated by the lack of high-quality sites, I eventually turned to Photoshop (in all its confusing and complex glory). It was difficult to navigate the program’s video-editing tools at first, but a few online tutorials proved extremely helpful in getting me on track. By the time I’d finished cutting frames, adjusting speeds, and adding filters, I’d made my very first GIF!


Here’s a link to the Tumblr tutorial I followed in case you ever want to try it out yourself.

 

bottom of page