top of page
  • westmonttheshield

Foodie Favorites: Quarantine Cravings

By Samantha Lam and Stephanie Lau


Welcome to our podcast. We’re coming to you live (just kidding) from quarantine. Unfortunately, with shelter-in-place, it has been a lot harder to get some of our favorite snacks, drinks, and foods. Today, we’ll be reminiscing our favorites… our foodie favorites that we miss the most; a foodie favorites finale. As this is probably the last issue for this year, this will be the last article from your favorite foodies. It’s been a good run for us; we started out humbly with What’s the Tea last year, and we’ve come a long way since then to expand our brand, repackaging our image this year into Foodie Favorites. Without further ado, let’s get into it! Yuh.

Stephanie: Dude, I’m hungry.

Samantha: Dude, me too. I miss restaurant food so much.

Stephanie: You know what I miss?

Samantha: What?

Stephanie: Dim sum, dude.

Samantha: Me too. I used to go almost every weekend, but now they’re all closed. You know what I miss?

Stephanie: What?

Samantha: Like, all the spots in Cupertino. Sizzling Lunch, Ippudo, that kind of stuff, you know?

Stephanie: Same. Even though you can still order from some places, it’s still not the same vibe. I never got to try Ippudo; what would you recommend?

Samantha: I’ve only been there twice, but it’s super good; I would even say Ramen Nagi-level good. I definitely recommend their Akamaru Modern ramen.

Stephanie: So what you’re saying is… we out after quarantine?

Samantha: Of course, dude. You can read my mind.

Stephanie: I miss boba too, but we can still get it. It’s not the same though, and I always feel stressed ordering. Boba Guys (a foodie favorite) is also struggling as a small business, and many of the franchise’s locations closed.

Samantha: Oh yeah, I heard about that! Are they closing forever or just temporarily?

Stephanie: Hopefully, just temporarily…

Samantha: I tried to make brownies when shelter-in-place started; they turned out okay. But me being the worst baker I know, I forgot to line the tray with foil, so all the brownies stuck to the pan. Sad.

Stephanie: You didn’t give me any brownies. Sad. I made bubble waffles and they looked weird, but at least they tasted pretty good and custardy.

Samantha: I’ll give you some next time. You better bring me waffles in return. Anyway, I can’t wait for shelter-in-place to end so we can go out to try new restaurants and snacks again.

Stephanie: Me too! Hopefully, people stay at home and social distance, so we can go and grub sooner.

Samantha: Yeah. Even though this might be our last Foodie Favorites, we can still carry on trying new places.

Samantha and Stephanie: We think it’s time to wrap up this podcast. Quarantine sucks, but at least our favorite spots will still be there once we get out. Alright, your favorite foodies are logging out. We rate this podcast 10/10 PURELL Advanced Hand Sanitizer Refreshing Gel Pump Bottles.

bottom of page