top of page
  • westmonttheshield

Thank You.

Updated: May 29, 2020

By Dylan Waste


Abrupt is the only way to describe how my highschool career ended. Only two months ago we were predicting when school would be shut down in journalism. Senior traditions that I had looked forward to for years were thrown out in a week. Despite the unfortunate end to highschool I have had a lot of time recently to reminisce on the most important 3 and a half years of my life. I came into highschool as a short kid with an even shorter temper; I’d like to think I have at least dealt with the height issue, but I digress. When talking about my social and educational development over the past couple years, I have to thank a couple teachers over the years for what they have done for me. Freshman year it was Andy Evans. Thank you for helping me realize how lazy I was and putting me on the track to actually being able to manage my time. I apologize for being late to your class everyday. Sophomore year it was James Marshall. I went into AP World History with a bit of ego, I thought I already knew what I needed to know for the course and my grades reflected that for a decent amount of time. Those first couple quizzes and exams really helped me get my work ethic to a somewhat acceptable level. Junior year it was Chris Mock. AP US History was the class that really made me fall in love with history. Despite all the work, especially the President’s Quiz, the class was a great experience. My senior year, while cut short, was the best year of my highschool experience. There were so many positive role models at Westmont in my final year. Eric Buran, Chris Haskett, Andy Evans, and everyone else on campus who made my senior year special. Thank you all for everything you did for me as at Westmont and most importantly thank you for making me a more capable to be an adult.


bottom of page