top of page
  • westmonttheshield

Thank you, Westmont

By Arohi Gadagkar


Senior year caught me off guard. The first semester was filled with tests, college application deadlines, and time-consuming events. When second semester rolled around the corner, I was ready—ready for the year to slow down and ready to spend more time with my family and friends. As we all know, second semester, unfortunately, came to a quick end. With a lengthy shelter-in-place order, I relied on facetime calls and socially distant interactions to keep up with the friends I made over the course of my four years at Westmont. And in between these conversations and zoom classes, I was able to truly reflect on my incredible years in high school.


Freshman year, I walked the halls a little lost. My interests changing every second and my friend groups changing every month, I had no idea what I was doing. The only place where I truly felt at home was on the volleyball court. Playing on the freshman team with the same teammates since middle school, I was confident in my ability to execute in the role I played in our team dynamic.


Sophomore year rushed in, and I was challenged academically like never before. AP World History and English 2 Honors presented me with a difficult curriculum and no map to navigate the murky waters. Despite the demanding schedule, I was able to relax in my favorite class of all time, journalism. Led by Andy Evans and four inspiring seniors, I found my home in room 58. I was encouraged to use the power of words to write about my interests and speak about what I deemed important, and that was life-changing.


Junior year came along, and slowly, I began to develop an inkling of what I wanted my future to look like. Every moment I spent in room 58, writing, designing, and ultimately producing a newspaper (alongside some of my best friends), brought me so much joy, I couldn’t imagine ever giving it up. I enjoyed wearing my journalist hat at all times, and because of that, I knew I wanted to pursue something related to journalism.


And now, here we are, senior year, with plans to major in journalism in college. Though there was a disappointing turn of events, I am so grateful for my unbelievable four years at Westmont. I leave knowing that I have a forever community and life-long memories that I will carry with me no matter where I go. I leave as a more confident, self-assured, and outspoken person. Thank you, Westmont, for turning me into the person I am today. I could not have asked for a greater experience.

bottom of page