top of page
  • westmonttheshield

Time is on My Side

Updated: May 29, 2020

By Chloe Clegg


Time is on my side. The Rolling Stones sang it, and I believed it. With senior year ending much faster than any of us could have expected, it sure seems like we could all use some more time. I can’t change the situation we are in, but I can share what I’ve learned during my four (or more like three and a half) years of high school.


Take photos of everything. You’ll treasure them later on, even if you think they’re embarrassing in the moment. Step out of your comfort zone. You’ll never know how many cool people you’ll meet or experiences you’ll have if you never try anything new. Spend more time with your friends. You won’t remember doing homework or studying for the SAT (although those are important too), but you will remember the countless memories and laughs you share with your friends.


And lastly, enjoy every single moment you have because you never know when everything could change. High school has its fair share of ups and downs, but one thing is true no matter what: you are only in high school once. Treasure the moments walking in the halls with your friends, or planning to meet up in the parking lot after school. Say hi to your teachers and make an effort to get to know them, they want to get to know you! Go to school events even if you think they’re lame because the real world sneaks up on you a lot faster than you think.


Ending senior year, I have accepted that maybe my second semester didn’t turn out like I had hoped, but that doesn’t change all the amazing memories I’ve made. Maturing from a scared freshman accidentally falling asleep in English I Honors (sorry Andy Evans!), to a confident senior now planning my college days, I am grateful for the good times I’ve had and the many more to come. I know this is just the beginning, and I can thank Westmont for molding me into the self-assured, positive person I am today. With so much to look forward to and so many memories to be thankful for, maybe time really is on my side.

bottom of page