top of page
  • westmonttheshield

When Westmont Gives You Lemons

By Stephanie Lau


“Four years goes by fast,” said almost every senior that talked to me during my freshman year. I almost didn’t believe them until now; it feels like just yesterday, I was outside Room 58 with seniors Hannah Kim, Hana Tobias, and Annie Vertin, preparing for our Scylla and Charybdis presentation (we’re in a tight spot!). Now, I’m sitting on the couch in the living room, reminiscing about my time as a Westmont Warrior. You probably heard of that saying that goes, “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” Luckily, Westmont has gifted me my fair share of “lemons,” and I’m about to share what I cherish and learned from each, special part. Hey, I made “lemonade!”


L: L is for love. I can confidently say that after my four years at Westmont I found activities I love, but most importantly, I spent time with people that I love. That probably sounded super cheesy, but bare with me here. I’ve realized that these friends, whether I’ve known them for thirteen years or four, will not just be a five minute walk away. I won’t see them for five days a week at our little, red lunch table, while I munch on a salad from Trader Joe’s. I’m about to start a new chapter of my life, but they won’t be there for more than half of the time. That sucks. What I’m trying to get at here is that you’ll make close connections in high school, so cherish those sooner than later because you don’t know when you’ll have your last hug, last laugh, or last late night drive with the homies. Finally, a special shoutout to my homies: I love you!


E: E is for eye. “Good Eye!” What’s a senior reflection from me without talking about badminton? I loved badminton before high school, but I love it even more after. From the first day I was late to tryouts to our last practice before quarantine, I enjoyed every single moment and made tons of new friends. I learned valuable leadership lessons as a captain, and I learned how to endure the stress of the game. Hopefully, I can continue playing my favorite sport at college and visit Bintang on some Friday nights (be there or be square!). Although the season didn’t end the way I expected, I’ll still hold on to the memories of the minimal time I spent with the team this year. I’ll miss eating Popeye’s in the lobby, making people listen to “Boyfriend” by Big Time Rush every practice, and passing around Joe Frogathan (my cool frog plushie) for good luck before every game. I’m extremely grateful to have shared the same jersey as the most genuine people I know on Westmont’s team. Badminton has made each day at school a thousand times better.


M: M is for motivation. Unfortunately, I sometimes have fallen victim to procrastination. However, I gradually learned to surround myself with people and things that motivate me to get the work done. Snacks. Safe to say, rewarding yourself with a snack after you finish your homework or projects definitely helps. Moreover, the friends I’ve stayed close with constantly encourage me to put in my best effort; I’ll miss the study dates with them too. Nevertheless, stay motivated!


O: O is for optimism. There were definitely multiple times where I was down in the dumps due to school or my social life, but I wish I focused on being optimistic sooner. Earlier, I tended to dwell on topics that I simply did not vibe with, such as the college application/admission process. It was a rough time, but with a little mood-boosting music and delicious boba, I focused on the benefits of the decisions made. This applies to all four years of high school as well. Although you may have flunked your first test or received a bad grade on your essay, it’s not the end of the world. Trust the process. It’s about time you and I left the bad vibes in the past and focused on the present and future.


N: N is for nice. Be nice.


S: S is for Supertrooper: the mascot for Division 12 West. Throughout my four years of high school, I was a part of Key Club, an organization that focuses on service and spirit. Like badminton, I’ve met many new friends and learned a variety of leadership skills. If I told my shy freshman self I screamed, “I feel good!” in the middle of the quad at lunch multiple times, she wouldn’t believe me. Four years ago, I stumbled upon a booth of upperclassmen cheering and talking about how I can go to Six Flags if I dressed up in “spirit gear.” I might have signed up for such a materialistic reason, but I soon learned that this club meant so much more. Key Club opened numerous doors of opportunity for me, allowing myself to open up, gain confidence, and complete countless service hours. I love the Division 12 West family and I’ll miss the times we had together at Fall Rally North, Region Training Conference, and many more; once a supertrooper, always a supertrooper.

bottom of page